The Wrestlemaniacs

I know the blogs are a bit wrestling heavy currently – this is the last one of these for a while! 

I’m hooked! Shit! I never thought it possible! Experiencing Wrestlemania weekend was nuts – especially when you are with a group of mostly guys for the whole weekend, some of whom are obsessed with sports entertainment and WWE,  but nonetheless I love them, heck I married one didn’t I?! 

We have had so much exposure to the inner workings of wrestling this weekend. It has been non-stop. From the Hall of Fame, watching DDP get inducted [see the blog Diamond Hall of Fame], various after show parties, Project OM, Wrestlecon, Wrestlemania itself, and finally the Raw after Wrestlemania – that had to be my favourite event of the weekend.

Don’t get me wrong, Wrestlemania itself was insane!!!! We had awesome seats, the crowd was electric, all the stops had been pulled out and it was a real show stopping, jaw-dropping, body-popping extravaganza. But… I fell in love with the more intimate setting of Raw. It felt more personal, and as a punter, you felt you were part of the story. Much more so than when we watch it on the box at home.

I’ve watched enough wrestling thanks to seven fabulous years of being with Haydn, and heard booing of bad guys before, but not to the crazy extent we witnessed that night. I wanted to feel sorry for the sheer amount of booing Roman Reigns was getting, but I really couldn’t! It was fun!  I lost my voice! He played it out so well and the crowd lapped it up. Every time he put the mic to his mouth, the booing intensified. After what felt like 20 minutes, He mic bombed us with “this is my yard now” (the previous night he retired the veteran wrestler, the Undertaker – a heart breaking end to the show). What a start to Raw and he didn’t even wrestle! 

Instead we had a tag team match featuring my old teenage crush, Jeff Hardy, his brother Matt (I love the delete chant!) against Anderson and Gallows. We were seated near the entrance and I can’t believe I actually got to clasp his hand! (Giving myself a self high 5 for that one). The high flying moves were awe-inspiring and the showmanship was second to none. That was certainly my favourite match of the night.


Later on I even got to touch the Diva, Baileys hand too (sorry Garett) as she met everyone on the way to the ring. As a punter she comes across as so sweet and lovely that  she has my entire fan-girl support. Charlotte Flair however, is in a league of her own – not only did she have the coolest peacockesque robe, she is a force to be reckoned with. She might be playing a heel at the moment (for my friends who might not know that means the baddy), but she has everyone’s respect.

Now I know many of their names, but I’m not entirely kosher with the moves, so I’m not going to comment on my thoughts on the matches, apart from that they were all exhilarating, emotional and enthralling. My appreciation for sports entertainment has quadrupled since going to the wrestlemania weekend, and we were so lucky to hav

Next time we are in Orlando, if we are  going to be that close to Disney and Universal, we will actually be going there next time (husbands dream is fulfilled; mine next!)

With Rey always in our hearts wherever we go xxx

Leave a Reply

